Container Gardening for Tomatoes (Google / Vegily)

Read at : Google Alert – gardening

http://vegily.wordpress.com/2008/07/01/container-gardening-for-tomatoes/

Container Gardening for Tomatoes

I’ve become really committed to the idea of supporting local farmers and now purchase the majority of my produce from the farmers market in town each Saturday. I am amazed by the variety offered at the market, as well as the quality of what is sold. Inspired by the vendors at the market, and in an effort to test my hand at growing food (what a novel concept!), I’ve started a container garden for both beefsteak and cherry tomatoes. Container gardening is the perfect solution for those of us living in apartments and condos, without the luxury of a yard, or the time to tend a full garden. All you need are containers (1 per plant), potting soil, and the tomato plants (I purchased mine at the farmers market for $2.50 ea).

From what I’ve read, tomatoes work well when raised in containers, provided they have soil deep enough for their roots to grow, ample sunlight and a daily infusion of water.  Weekly feeding is beneficial as well – I’ve been using Miracle Grow’s All-Purpose Plant Food.

(continued)

Published by

Willem Van Cotthem

Honorary Professor of Botany, University of Ghent (Belgium). Scientific Consultant for Desertification and Sustainable Development.