Malawi : container gardening project progressing (Patrick HARRY)

Message of February 8, 2010 :

Dear Prof. Dr. Willem Van Cotthem,

I am writing to report about the progress of our Container Gardening Project in Malawi, more particularly in Nkhotakota where the project site was identified.

Throughout the month of January, 2010, I have been active conducting a baseline survey with 3 volunteers to study the extent of hunger, poverty and desertification and deforestation in Nkhotakota-district, plus the main cities of Malawi, Lilongwe, Blantyre and Mzuzu. The summary report of the findings will be sent to you soon.

Let me inform you that the research costs are about MK20.000 and MK3.000 was added to the research project from the money remaining on my account.

2009 - Patrick HARRY with the group of youngsters he is training for his container gardening project.

Meanwhile, I would like to ask you to post seeds for the Nkhotakota container garden  to  my sisters address: Martha Harry, C/O Theatre for Change, British Council, PO Box 30222, Lilongwe 3, Malawi. I intend to start  planting as soon as they arrive this year.

Let me also tell you that TST members from Holland contacted me for partnership to assist them starting container gardening in Blantyre at their two orphanage centres.

Another good development is that negotiations are under way to discuss with the owner of the land to allow me to buy extra land  so that the area may be big enough for the construction projects on the land.

May God bless you.

PATRICK HARRY.

Published by

Willem Van Cotthem

Honorary Professor of Botany, University of Ghent (Belgium). Scientific Consultant for Desertification and Sustainable Development.