Mister Smarty Plants to know your plants (John ELLIS)

A message from John ELLIS :


I really enjoying reading your gardening blog and I thought you and your blog readers might interested to check out site I just created for plant and flower identification: www.mistersmartyplants.com <http://www.mistersmartyplants.com/>

Basically it provides a simple way for non experts to upload pictures of plants and flowers they can’t identify and then let people with more knowledge vote on the correct identification.

Users who give the correct answers can score points when the plant is ID’d.

As a novice gardener I find my self sometimes accidentally fertilizing weeds and pulling flowers, but using the plant guide books can be intimidating. I wanted to create a simple method that would let me snap a picture of a plant with my camera phone, upload it to the web and let someone with more expertise identify it.

I hope you like the site and if you have comments or suggestions ‘I’m all ears!’  We are just starting the build the community and eventually expect to offer weekly prizes for the leading experts.

Best Regards,

John

Published by

Willem Van Cotthem

Honorary Professor of Botany, University of Ghent (Belgium). Scientific Consultant for Desertification and Sustainable Development.