How to garden inexpensively in containers (Google – Deseret News)

Read at :

http://www.deseretnews.com/article/700126100/Tired-of-fighting-soil-other-pests-Try-container-gardening.html

Tired of fighting soil, other pests? Try container gardening

By Larry A. Sagers, For the Deseret News

Last year saw an unprecedented upsurge in food gardening.

Surveys of garden interest, seed sales and other indicators show that people want to grow their own food. Many people also want to store food and are looking for an inexpensive way to do that.

Backyard food production is still important at my house, but times and conditions have changed. Because it is only my wife and I, the amount of produce needed has diminished. I also got tired of fighting the heavy clay soil that has plagued me for years.

For this reason, I am sharing over the next three weeks how to garden inexpensively in containers. Even if you have no soil, you can adapt these ideas to grow great vegetables anywhere you can get water and sun. Almost no one can use the excuse, “I have no place to garden.”

Two other factors led to a change in gardening styles. My son needed extra space to grow some of his produce for the farmers market. However, the final straw that made my decision was the deer that seemed to think my most tender vegetables were their dessert.

I decided it was easier to corral the vegetables than to fence the deer out of the entire yard. That left me with a lot less growing space and the need to make the garden more productive.

I decided to use the same technique I use in the flower garden to make this garden just as successful. That technique is container gardening.

The conversion involved several steps besides moving the garden inside the fence. The first was the choice of containers to use for growing.

(continued)

Published by

Willem Van Cotthem

Honorary Professor of Botany, University of Ghent (Belgium). Scientific Consultant for Desertification and Sustainable Development.