Bottle towers in Australia (Rachel CHRISTIAN)

A recent message from Rachel :

Dear Willem,

Hello, I hope that this email finds you well.  I wanted to update you on the progress of my bottle tower project/s here in Australia.

To date I demonstrated a single tower on the 10th of October for an open day at Mamre House where we invited people from the disability sector to come and visit our farm (see photo attached). The towers attracted a lot of interest from both clients and service providers with many people watching as I constructed it throughout the event, with the most frequent comment being ‘what a clever idea’ your towers are.

Then on the 21st of October we had a big fair day (with around 3000 visitors) and for this I entered, and displayed a bottle tower in our art competition.  (see attached artists statement and photos).  The judge spoke to the audience about some of the issues that I touched on in my statement. The statement, with your link, was displayed with the tower.  This tower is currently on permanent display in Sister Monica’s flower garden. It also took out second place in the show🙂

I also have a small tower at home. I plan to construct another set of towers at some point, I have not finalized the details yet of whether it will be again at our farm, or at another site in the area.  I am planning to show the first tower to Costa Georgiadis, the host of Gardening Australia (long running national gardening program), on his next visit to our farm. I have already told him about it and will keep you informed if he ever decides to use it on his show, and of any future projects.

Please feel free to use any of the materials sent here in whatever way you wish to promote your good work.

Kind regards
Rachel

Published by

Willem Van Cotthem

Honorary Professor of Botany, University of Ghent (Belgium). Scientific Consultant for Desertification and Sustainable Development.