https://dnareboot.files.wordpress.com/2015/08/img_0669.jpg?w=535&h=401

Why do we grow food on our balcony ?

Photo credit: DNA Reboot

My Edible Balcony:Container Gardens

by DNA Reboot

Container gardening is not for the faint-hearted. It requires time and a little more patience but if you have little space it is the solution! When I became pregnant with my son I decided I wanted to live near the beach so I could go for beach walks. However, the only place I found to rent was an apartment with a very small balcony (1.5m x 2.5m). For me it was the ultimate permie challenge.

IMG_0670Permie Checklist: Why grow food on my balcony?

  • Produce organic herbs and veggies,
  • Improves the environment and creates habitat for insects,
  • Reduces food kilometres (transport),
  • Keeps my balcony cool,
  • Reduces air and noise pollution,

After observing the sun I noticed that my balcony only got 3-4 hours of sunshine and being by the beach, it got quite windy at times. I did a bit of researched and decided I would start with herbs. I chose to buy seedlings as I thought it would be easier than to tackle the elements.

Within months I had all my favourite herbs (parsley rosemary, basil, lemon grass, curry plant, chives, coriander), cherry tomatoes, comfrey, plenty of aloe vera, chillies, lavender, radishes and carrots.

Read the full article: DNA Reboot

Published by

Willem Van Cotthem

Honorary Professor of Botany, University of Ghent (Belgium). Scientific Consultant for Desertification and Sustainable Development.